Federal solar credit ended Dec 31, 2025
Sorted & Saved

Solar costs · Rhode Island

Solar Panel Cost in Rhode Island

Updated Data verified Nov 5, 2026

A typical Rhode Island home uses 567 kWh a month[1] of electricity. Covering that with solar takes a system of about 5.3 kW est.[1,2], which costs roughly $16,000 to $21,500 est.[1,2,3] before incentives at the state's median installed price. With Rhode Island's average residential price of 29.05¢ per kWh[4], our model puts payback at about 9 years est.[1,2,3,4,5]. Your quote, roof and utility plan will move these numbers, so treat them as a starting point.

On this page [ 7 ]

Rhode Island solar at a glance

Average electricity price29.05¢/kWh[4]Jan–Aug 2026 average (preliminary)
Average home use567 kWh/mo[1]2024 average
Solar output per kW1,294 kWh/yr[2]PVWatts estimate for Providence
Median installed price$3.50/W[3]Estimate, before incentives
Typical system5.3 kWSized to cover 100% of use
Typical price$18,600Estimate, before incentives
Year-1 savings$1,980Estimate
Payback9 yearsEstimate, cash purchase

Estimates use the inputs above and the assumptions in our methodology: Rhode Island net metering: exports credited at the retail rate (statewide rule; your utility's tariff may differ). Prices rise 2.5% a year; panels lose 0.5% a year.

Solar cost in Rhode Island by system size

Same assumptions as the typical home above; only the system size changes. Prices are the state median before incentives and include the incentives our calculator applies by default in Rhode Island.

Estimated cost, output and payback by system size in Rhode Island
SystemPrice before incentives[3]After incentiveskWh in year 1[2]Year-1 savings[4][5]Payback (years)
4 kW$14,000$14,0005,180$1,5009
6 kW$21,000$21,0007,760$1,98010
8 kW$28,000$28,00010,350$1,98012
10 kW$35,000$35,00012,940$1,98015
12 kW$42,000$42,00015,530$1,98017

Incentives that lower the price in Rhode Island

Federal · tax creditEnding soon

Business credit for leased and PPA systems (48E)

Claimed by the system owner, not the homeowner; solar must begin construction by July 4, 2026 or be in service by December 31, 2027[6]

If a company owns the panels on your roof (a lease or power purchase agreement), that company may claim the business clean electricity investment credit and can reflect it in your price. You cannot claim it yourself.

Who
Third-party-owned systems (leases and PPAs). Ask the provider whether the price assumes this credit.
Deadline
December 31, 2027
Checked
November 5, 2026
State · performance paymentAvailable

Renewable Energy Growth (REG) Program - Rhode Island Energy

15- or 20-year fixed per-kWh tariff paid on all production instead of net metering. The Commerce RI page cites 33.85 or 32.35 cents/kWh for small solar 'this year', depending on size and term.[7]

Alternative to net metering run by Rhode Island Energy. It cannot be combined with the REF grant, and the year of the quoted rates was not stated.

Who
Alternative to net metering run by Rhode Island Energy. It cannot be combined with the REF grant, and the year of the quoted rates was not stated.
Deadline
None set in the source
Checked
November 5, 2026
State · tax exemptionAvailable

Sales Tax Exemption for Renewable Energy Products (R.I. Gen. Laws 44-18-30(57))

100% exemption from Rhode Island sales tax on solar PV modules, inverters, manufactured mounting racks and manufacturer-specified monitoring equipment[8]

Applies to the listed renewable energy products (panels, DC-to-AC inverters, manufactured racks and ballast pans, manufacturer-specified monitoring and control equipment), not to generic electrical materials. No sunset appears in the statute text.

Who
Applies to the listed renewable energy products (panels, DC-to-AC inverters, manufactured racks and ballast pans, manufacturer-specified monitoring and control equipment), not to generic electrical materials. No sunset appears in the statute text.
Deadline
None set in the source
Checked
November 5, 2026

All Rhode Island incentives, including utility and local programs →

How Rhode Island utilities credit your solar

Rhode Island Energy must net meter rooftop solar. Output up to your own usage in each billing period earns a renewable net-metering credit worth the per-kWh supply (last resort service), distribution, transmission and transition charges. Since a 2025 law (effective June 27, 2025), production above your monthly usage earns only the wholesale ISO-New England energy clearing price instead of the old avoided-cost rate. A credit balance left after the annual reconciliation can be cashed out.[5]

We have not added every Rhode Island utility yet, so the estimates on this page use the state-level rule: Rhode Island net metering: exports credited at the retail rate (statewide rule; your utility's tariff may differ).

Full Rhode Island net metering and export-credit rules →

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

How much do solar panels cost in Rhode Island?

At the state median installed price of $3.50 per watt est.[3], a 5.3 kW est.[1,2] system that covers a typical home's use costs about $18,600 est.[1,2,3] before incentives. Quotes vary with roof, equipment and installer.

How long does solar take to pay for itself in Rhode Island?

For a cash purchase at the state's average electricity price of 29.05¢ per kWh[4], our model estimates about 9 years est.[1,2,3,4,5]. Your utility's export credit and rate plan matter a lot; see the export-credit table above.

Is there still a federal solar tax credit?

Not for homeowners who buy. The Federal Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D)[9] does not apply to systems whose installation is completed after December 31, 2025. Leased and PPA systems are different: the company that owns the system may still claim a business credit.

sources

[ 9 ]

Every number on this page links to one of these sources. Dates show when we last checked each one.

  1. EIA Electric Sales, Revenue, and Average Price 2024, Table 5A: Residential average monthly bill by stateeia.gov · checked Nov 5, 2026
  2. NREL/NLR PVWatts v8 (1 kW-DC, fixed roof mount, 20° tilt, south-facing, 14% losses, TMY weather)pvwatts.nlr.gov · checked Nov 5, 2026
  3. U.S. Distributed Solar and Storage 2026 Data Update (Barbose, Darghouth, O'Shaughnessy, Forrester), Berkeley Labeta-publications.lbl.gov · checked Nov 5, 2026
  4. EIA Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.6.B: Average price of electricity by state, year-to-date (August 2026, preliminary)eia.gov · checked Nov 5, 2026
  5. R.I. Gen. Laws § 39-26.4-2(8) (as amended by P.L. 2025, ch. 256 and ch. 269, effective June 27, 2025), read via web.archive.org snapshot of 2026-10-14 (rilegislature.gov refuses direct fetches)webserver.rilegislature.gov · checked Nov 5, 2026
  6. Public Law 119-21 - Sec. 70513(a) and (g)(5) (48E); Sec. 70512(a) and (l)(4) (45Y)govinfo.gov · checked Nov 5, 2026
  7. Renewable Energy Fund - Rhode Island Commerce (Homeowner Resources section)commerceri.com · checked Nov 5, 2026
  8. R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-18-30(57) - Renewable energy products, read via web.archive.org snapshot of 2026-10-05webserver.rilegislature.gov · checked Nov 5, 2026
  9. IRS FS-2025-05: FAQs for modification of sections 25C, 25D, 25E, 30C, 30D, 45L, 45W, and 179D under Public Law 119-21 (OBBB)irs.gov · checked Nov 5, 2026

State data last re-checked November 5, 2026.

Change log

  1. Monthly output per kW in Providence updated to [83.2, 87.1, 118.2, 128.1, 135.1, 128.8, 138.2, 128.2, 114.1, 95.4, 70.9, 66.4] kWh/kW/month (NREL/NLR PVWatts v8 (1 kW-DC, fixed roof mount, 20° tilt, south-facing, 14% losses, TMY weather)).
  2. Average solar radiation on the panels in Providence updated to 4.7 kWh/m2/day (NREL/NLR PVWatts v8 (1 kW-DC, fixed roof mount, 20° tilt, south-facing, 14% losses, TMY weather)).
  3. Solar output per kW in Rhode Island (PVWatts, Providence) updated to 1293.6 kWh/kW/yr (NREL/NLR PVWatts v8 (1 kW-DC, fixed roof mount, 20° tilt, south-facing, 14% losses, TMY weather)).
  4. Renewable Energy Fund (REF) Small-Scale Solar Grant (Commerce RI): now "$1.65 per watt DC for systems up to 8.8 kW; larger systems get the maximum of $14,500 per project (paid to the installer, who passes it through)" (closed).
  5. What the rule says updated to “excess renewable net-metering credits shall be equal to the wholesale electricity rate, which is hereby declared to be the ISO-New England energy clearing price” (R.I. Gen. Laws § 39-26.4-2(8) (as amended by P.L. 2025, ch. 256 and ch. 269, effective June 27, 2025), read via web.archive.org snapshot of 2026-10-14 (rilegislature.gov refuses direct fetches)).