On this page [ 6 ]
Three kinds of inverter
- Microinverters sit under each panel. Shade on one panel does not drag down the others, you get panel-level monitoring, and rapid shutdown is built in. See microinverter.
- String inverters are one box on the wall serving a series of panels, sometimes with optimizers on each panel. Fewer parts on the roof and easy service access. See string inverter.
- Hybrid inverters are string inverters that also manage a battery, which can save equipment if you want storage now or later.
Inverters compared, spec sheet by spec sheet
Figures come from each manufacturer's datasheet. CEC efficiency is the California Energy Commission weighted efficiency, the fairest single number for comparing inverters.
| Model | Type | AC output | CEC efficiency | Battery-ready | Rapid shutdown | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| APsystems DS3-S (US)[1] | dual-module microinverter (1 unit per 2 modules) | 640 VA | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 25 |
| Enphase IQ8 Series microinverters (US)[2] | microinverter (grid-forming capable) | 240–475 VA per module | 97–97.5% | Not stated | Module-level by design; UL listed as PV rapid shutdown equipment, conforms with… | Limited warranty of up to 25 years |
| Fronius Primo GEN24 / GEN24 Plus 208-240 (3.8, 5.0, 6.0, 7.7, 10.0 kW)[3] | hybrid string inverter (battery-ready; 'Plus' adds backup:… | 3.8 to 10.0 kW (Essential Backup nominal output e.g. 3,800 W for 3.8; 10,000 W… | @240 V: 96.5% to 97.0% (3.8: 96.5%;… | Not stated | Integrated PLC transmitter sending a SunSpec rapid-shutdown signal to… | Not stated |
| Generac PWRcell 2 Inverter (APKE00075)[4] | battery inverter (AC-coupled storage system) | Up to 11.5 kW max AC output (limited by battery configuration) | 98.5% | Not stated | Not applicable (battery inverter; paired with PWRmicro or Enphase IQ8… | 10 |
| SMA Sunny Boy US-41 (SB3.0 to SB7.7-1SP/1TP-US-41)[5] | string inverter (transformerless) | 3,000 to 7,680 W AC nominal @240V (SB3.0: 3000 W; SB3.8: 3840 W; SB5.0: 5000 W;… | 96.0% to 97.0% (by model/voltage; e.g.,… | Not stated | SunSpec PLC rapid shutdown signal over DC wires with SunSpec-certified module… | 10 standard; 15 / 20 optional |
| SolarEdge Nexis Inverter Single Phase (NX3800T-US to NX13000T-US)[6] | DC-optimized hybrid string inverter (requires SolarEdge S-… | 3,840 to 13,000 W @240V (3,330 to 11,200 W @208V); standalone backup 14,500 W;… | Marketing bullet claims '99% weighted… | Not stated | Rapid Shutdown (RSD) NEC 690.11, NEC 690.12 (via optimizers / SafeDC) | Not stated |
| Tesla Powerwall 3 integrated inverter[7] | hybrid (integrated solar + battery inverter) | 5.8 / 7.6 / 10 / 11.5 kW AC (configurable); up to 20 kW DC solar input, 6 MPPTs | Solar to Home/Grid 97.5% (tested using… | Not stated | PV Rapid Shutdown using Tesla Mid-Circuit Interrupters (MCI, UL 1741 PVRSE / UL… | 10 |
What to compare
- CEC weighted efficiency: the California Energy Commission's standard rating, the fairest single efficiency number. Differences between modern inverters are small.
- Warranty: standard and extendable terms differ a lot between types; a longer warranty reduces the risk of a mid-life replacement cost.
- Battery path: whether the inverter can add a battery directly or needs a separate battery inverter.
- Rapid shutdown: the electrical code requires rooftop arrays to de-energize quickly for firefighters; microinverters do this by design, string systems need compatible equipment.
Which type fits your roof
Complex roofs with several directions or partial shade usually suit microinverters or optimizers. A simple, unshaded south-facing roof is well served by a string inverter, which can cost less. If you plan to add a battery, ask whether a hybrid inverter would avoid buying a second inverter later. Whatever you choose, get the exact model numbers on your quote and check them against the datasheet.
FAQ
Frequently asked questions
Are microinverters better than a string inverter?
Not always. Microinverters handle shade and complex roofs better and give panel-level monitoring; string inverters can cost less and are easier to service on simple roofs.
How long do solar inverters last?
Check the warranty term on the datasheet; it is the best guide to the manufacturer's expectations. Microinverters generally carry longer standard warranties than string inverters.
Does inverter efficiency matter much?
Less than it used to. Most current models have similar CEC weighted efficiency, so type, warranty and battery compatibility usually matter more.
sources
[ 7 ]Every number on this page links to one of these sources. Dates show when we last checked each one.
- DS3-S Microinverter - APsystems USAusa.apsystems.com · checked Nov 5, 2026
- IQ8 Series Microinverters Data Sheet (DSH-00378-5.0-EN-2026-07-13)enphase.com · checked Nov 5, 2026
- Fronius Primo GEN24 3.8 - 6.0 kW / Plus / SC 208 - 240 Operating instructions (Technical data)manuals.fronius.com · checked Nov 5, 2026
- Generac PWRcell 2 Specification Sheet (REV C 01/2026)generac.com · checked Nov 5, 2026
- SMA Sunny Boy 3.0-US / 3.8-US / 5.0-US / 6.0-US / 7.0-US / 7.7-US datasheet (SBxx-US-DS-en-41)files.sma.de · checked Nov 5, 2026
- SolarEdge Nexis Inverter Single Phase for North America Preliminary Datasheet (DS-000268-NAM)marketing.solaredge.com · checked Nov 5, 2026
- 2025 Powerwall 3 Datasheet (North America)energylibrary.tesla.com · checked Nov 5, 2026